21st Annual Conference


October 26-27th, 2017 in Los Angeles, CA

To Register for this event, click here. Registration will be available at the door.

Keynote Speaker


Mary L. Schapiro Chairman, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (2009‐2012) Keynote Conversation

Mary Schapiro’s service as the 29th SEC chairman culminated decades of regulatory leadership. She was the first woman to serve as SEC chairman, and the only person to have served as chairman of both the SEC and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission.

During four years as SEC chairman, Schapiro presided over one of the busiest rule-making agendas in the SEC’s history, during which the agency also brought a record number of enforcement actions, and executed a comprehensive restructuring program to improve protections for investors. Upon her departure, President Obama praised her leadership, saying the SEC became stronger and the financial system “safer and better able to serve the American people—thanks in large part to Schapiro’s hard work.

Before becoming SEC chairman, Schapiro served as CEO of the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, the largest non- governmental regulator of securities firms. She worked for more than a decade with FINRA and its largest predecessor, the National Association of Securities Dealers. She was president of NASD regulation, vice chairman of the NASD, and was NASD’s chairman and CEO at the time of its consolidation into FINRA.

Earlier, Schapiro was chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission; a commissioner of the SEC; and general counsel and senior vice president of the Futures Industry Association. She began her career at the CFTC, serving first as a trial attorney and later as counsel and executive assistant to the chairman.

Schapiro is currently vice chairman of Promontory Financial Group’s Advisory Board, a board member at General Electric, the London Stock Exchange Group, and The Center for Audit Quality (CAQ) and vice chair of the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board.


Host Committee Members

Diane Allison Ascension Parish School Board – Louisiana

Alice Bibler State of Oregon – Treasury

Marla Bleavins Port of Los Angeles

Joan Bracci County of San Diego

Antoinette Chandler County of Los Angeles

Michele Crichlow County of San Diego

Linda R. Dzierzanowski CPS Energy – Texas

Trisha Filippone University of Massachusetts Building Authority

Anne Fritz City of St. Petersburg – Florida

Lisa-Marie Harris San Diego County Water Authority

Kathy Kardell Hennepin County – Minnesota

Katano Kasaine City of Oakland – California

Lakshmi Kommi City of San Diego

Amanda Lavin Texas Water Development Board

Angel Mumma City of Dublin – Ohio

Rose Poblete San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District

LuAnne Edwards Schurtz Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Marina Scott Salt Lake City

Nadia Sesay City and County of San Francisco

Alina Slamar Los Angeles World Airports

Ha To City of Los Angeles


Pre-Conference Chapters Meeting

Location: Check Back For More Information
Time: .

Founders’ Awards Event

Location: The Millennium Biltmore Hotel, Los Angeles, CA
Date: Thursday, October 26, 2017
Time: 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM

Conference Schedule

Detailed Agenda Coming Soon

Location: The Millennium Biltmore Hotel
Date: Friday, October 27, 2017
7:30 a.m. Registration Begins
8:15 a.m. Breakfast Served
8:30 a.m. Opening Remarks and Welcome to California
9:30 a.m. Mary L. Shapiro Keynote Address
11:00 a.m. Scholarship Awards
11:20 a.m. Lunch Served
11:40 a.m. Panel Discussion – “Perspectives for the Next Generation: Observations and Lessons for Life in the Public, Private and Political Sectors”
1:00 p.m. Featured Speaker
1:55 p.m. Closing Remarks
2:30 p.m. Post Conference Walking Tour of Historical Downtown Los Angeles
4:00 p.m. Post Conference Reception – PERCH Rooftop 448 S. Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071

In accordance with WPF Press Policy, all Conference functions are designated *public with restrictions*; attendance at the Conference by members of the press is deemed acceptance of these terms.



Limited overnight accommodations have been reserved at the following hotels (We recommend booking early to ensure room availability).

Room rate is $195 plus applicable taxes. To reserve a room, please use this link.

HILTON CHECKERS LOS ANGELES Room rate is $199 plus applicable taxes. To reserve a room, please use this link.

THE STANDARD HOTEL Room rate is $209 plus applicable taxes. To reserve a room, please use this link.

OMNI LOS ANGELES HOTEL Room rate is $209 plus applicable taxes. To reserve a room, please use this link.


We would like to thank our sponsors for supporting Women in Public Finance.


Program Sponsors

Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Lunch Sponsors

J.P. Morgan
Piper Jaffray

Breakfast Sponsors

RBC Capital Markets
Columbia Capital Management, LLC

Post Conference Reception Sponsors

assured municipal
US Bank



Platinum Sponsors

Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Goldman, Sachs & Co.
Wells Fargo
Kroll Bond Rating Agency
Stifel Nicolaus
ImageMaster, LLC

Gold Sponsors

Nuveen Asset Management
S&P Global
Fitch Ratings
Morgan Stanley
Western Alliance Bank

Silver Sponsors

Nixon Peabody
Loop Capital
Fidelity Capital Markets
Stern Brothers & Co.
Siebert Cisneros Shank & Co., L.L.C.
Squire Patton Boggs
Hilltop Securities
The Williams Capital Group
Public Trust Advisors
Build America Mutual
Omnicap Group
Foley & Lardner LLP
Faegre Baker Daniels
KeyBanc Capital Markets

Bronze Sponsors

Thompson Coburn
Zions Bank – Corporate Trust Services
Mesirow Financial
McGuire Woods
Dorsey & Whitney
James Anderson
The Commerce Trust Company


Jones Hall
NHA Advisors
Pugh, Jones & Johnson, P.C.
Huntington National Bank


Past Founders’ Awards Recipients

Rising Star Award – Natasha A. Holiday
She’s Our Hero Award – Katie Koster
Lifetime Achievement Award – Carole L. Brown
Rising Star Award – Jessica Akey
She’s Our Hero Award – Monika Suarez
Lifetime Achievement Award – The Honorable Denise L. Nappier
Rising Star Award – Dana Sodikoff
She’s Our Hero Award – Harriet Welch
Lifetime Achievement Award – Robin L. Wiessmann